The Boltzmann award (2004) has been awarded to

E. G. D. Cohen (The Rockefeller University) (left) and H. E. Stanley (Boston University) (right)

The citations read as follows:

Ezechiel Godert David Cohen:

For his fundamental contributions to nonequilibrium statistical mechanics, including the development of a theory of transport phenomena in dense gases, and the characterization of measures and fluctuations in nonequilibrium stationary states.



H. Eugene Stanley:


For his influential contributions to several areas of statistical physics, including the theory of phase transitions and critical phenomena in spin systems and the percolation problem, and the application of these ideas to interpret the anomalous properties of liquid water.